Early voting ends Friday

Early voting in the Democratic and Republican Primary runoff election ends this Friday. The Voter Registrar office at 1 Broad St., Suite 107 (near the courthouse entrance), will be open each day this week from 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.  

Tammy Watkins of the registrar’s office said 444 registered voters have taken advantage of early balloting (as of Monday afternoon). Eleven have voted Democrat and 433 have voted Republican.

Runoff election day is Tuesday, July 24, in all county precincts. Following are the aspiring candidates for each party and office:


﹣ State School Superintendent — Sid Chapman and Otha E. Thornton Jr.


﹣ Governor — Lt. Gov. Casey Cagle and Secretary of State Brian Kemp

﹣ Lt. Governor — State Rep. Geoff Duncan and state Sen. David Shafer

﹣ Secretary of State — Alpharetta Mayor David Belle Isle and state Rep. Brad Raffensperger

No local candidates are in a runoff. Incumbent Gilmer Commission Board Chairman Charlie Paris did not draw a challenger, and Karleen Ferguson won the Post 2 seat of outgoing Commissioner Travis Crouch without a runoff (more than 50 percent of the vote). Both are Republicans. Paris and Ferguson will assume their seats with just one vote in the General Election this November, as there are no Democrat challengers.

For details about the runoff election, call the registrar’s office at 706-635-4617.

Times Courier

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 1076
Ellijay, GA. 30540

Phone: 706-635-4313
Fax: 706-635-7006