• Above are Gilmer High School football players and coaches following their annual banquet. Front row, from left are Rodrigo Casas, Drew Dyer, Austin Lacy, Levi Seabolt, Dustin Brenner, Tyler Buntin and Kamron Engler. Back row are coach Todd Gibson, Tanner Cantlay, manager Jared Drullinger, Griffin Cagle, coaches Dennis Wilson and Casey Wingard, Chandler Sutton, coach Thomas Flowers and Kell Kiker.

Gilmer football holds annual banquet

Gilmer High School held its annual football awards banquet earlier this month.

Following the introduction by guest speaker Mark Pettit, varsity letters and junior varsity certificates were doled out.

Honors began with the Academic Award, which went to seniors Tyler Buntin and Tanner Cantlay.

Kell Kiker received Best Offensive Back Award, and Buntin was named Best Defensive Back.

Levi Seabolt took home the honor of Best Offensive Lineman, and fellow senior Austin Lacy received the Best Defensive Lineman distinction.

Seniors Griffin Cagle and Kamron Engler received the Best Wide Receiver and Best Linebacker awards, respectively.

Senior Dustin Brenner was named Most Improved offensive player, and Cantaly won the award on the defensive side.

Kicker Rodrigo Casas capped his senior season by winning the Special Teams Award.

Jared Drullinger earned  the Manager Award, Chandler Sutton received the Coaches Award and Lacy was the recipient of the Bobcat Award.

The Gudger-Sluder Award, the Huff-Mosley Award and Most Valuable Player honors were the last announced.

The Gudger-Sluder Award is named in honor of former coaches John Sluder and the late Don Gudger. It is given to the player who exemplifies traits such as unselfishness, a strong commitment to the team, a great attitude and work ethic. Receiving the Gudger-Sluder Award for the 2016 season was senior defensive back Drew Dyer.

The Huff-Mosley Award is named in honor and memory of the late Sonny Huff and Mel Mosley. The award goes to the player who best exemplifies high standards of character, leadership, scholarship and sportsmanship. First team all-region offensive lineman Seabolt took home the honor for the 2016 campaign. 

Kiker played running back and defensive back and was named MVP, which is traditionally known as the Golden Helmet Award.

Times Courier

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 1076
Ellijay, GA. 30540

Phone: 706-635-4313
Fax: 706-635-7006